Hit the Links: New Year New You and My Favorite Things

2014 happens Wednesday. Are you ready? I think I’ve accomplished a lot this year – and hope to do more next year. Here’s some links to get us all started:

Use the library to help fulfill those New Year’s resolutions. What skills have you been meaning to learn?

Hack Library School has A Library Student’s New Year’s Resolution List. What else would you add to her list?

Here’s 8 New Year’s Resolutions for Librarians. These are more for public/small libraries, but we could probably all improve our marketing.

LibrarianShipwreck has a lengthy post on What Will 2014 Bring for Libraries? 

And here are some of My Favorite Things that may also help with your resolutions:

Tackle your workplace and job issues by reading Alison Green’s Ask A Manager. This is my favorite blog, hands-down. Alison has practical, real-world advice.

Do you wish you were a better speaker/presenter? You should check out Toastmasters. I’m an officer at Twilite Toastmasters in Tempe and love it. Toastmasters are friendly, club meetings are fun, and I love improving my speaking skills and helping others improve. Find a club and drop in anytime, they’re everywhere.

What are your resolutions in 2014?

I resolve to watch less Netflix. Just kidding! I’m a homebody and Netflix is my bestie. But I do resolve to continue to improve my speaking skills and to finish my second masters: an M.Ed in Instructional Design.

Leave a Reply

